About Us

Matthew Segar
Matthew Segar, MD, MS

Matthew Segar, MD, MS is a first-year cardiology fellow at the Texas Heart Institute.

Dr. Segar graduated with a degree in computer science with Honors from Bucknell University in 2012 and a Masters of Science in Bioinformatics from Indiana University in 2014. He earned his medical degree from Indiana University in 2018 and completed his residency in internal medicine at UT Southwestern.

His current research focuses on using machine learning and artificial intelligence to improve risk prediction and tailor medical therapies to identify and treat heart failure. He has received numerous awards including the NIH Big Data Challenge, the AHA Heart Failure Challenge, and was a finalist for the 2020 AHA Elizabeth Barrett-Connor and 2021 Lifestyle and Cardiometabolic Health Research Awards.

His personal website can be seen at www.segar.me.

Ambarish Pandey
Ambarish Pandey, MD, MSc

Ambarish Pandey, MD, MSc is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He specializes in preventive cardiology and heart failure with preserved ejection fraction.

Dr. Pandey earned his medical degree at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences. He completed both his residency in internal medicine and fellowship in cardiology at UT Southwestern. He also holds a master’s degree in clinical sciences from UT Southwestern.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in cardiovascular disease, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2018.

Dr. Pandey has published scores of professional, cardiology-based articles. In 2018, he was named a Texas Health Resources Clinical Scholar, an award that supports his research on screening and prevention of heart failure, particularly the difficult-to-treat heart failure with preserved ejection fraction.

He is a member of the American Heart Association (AHA), where he serves on several committees, including the Scientific Sessions Planning Committee and the Epidemiology Early Career Committee. He has received numerous awards, including the NIH Big Data Challenge, AHA Heart Failure Challenge, Elizabeth Barrett-Connor Research Award, and the Steven N. Blair Award for Excellence in Physical Activity Research.